## REPORT OF PROCEEDINGS

## BRITISH PHARMACEUTICAL CONFERENCE

## CONSTITUTION AND RULES

1. The British Pharmaceutical Conference shall meet annually for the discussion of subjects relative to the science of pharmacy, for the promotion of friendly reunion amongst pharmacists and those interested in pharmacy, and generally for the furtherance of the objects sought to be obtained under the Royal Charter of Incorporation granted to the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain and the several Pharmacy Acts.

- 2. The Conference shall consist of:
- (a) members honorary members and student-associates of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain;
- (b) members of the other Pharmaceutical Societies within the British Commonwealth of Nations which desire to be associated with the work of the Conference and have made an agreement with the British Pharmaceutical Conference whereby an annual subscription shall be paid by their Society in lieu of individual subscriptions from members; and
- (c) persons at home and abroad interested in the advancement of Pharmacy who, not being qualified for membership of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain or one of the other Societies associated with the work of the Conference, have been nominated in writing by a member of the Conference, and elected by the Executive.

3. The Officers of the Conference, who shall collectively constitute the Executive Committee, shall be: A Chairman, Vice-Chairmen, one Honorary Treasurer, two Honorary General Secretaries, together with three members of the Council of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, and six other members of the Conference. Of the six other members nominated annually by the outgoing Executive the two members who have had the longest period of continuous service shall be ineligible for re-nomination for one year. The President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain shall be *ex officio* a member of the Executive Committee and President of the Conference. The Chairman of the Executive of the Scottish Department of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, the President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland, the President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland, the President of the Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, the Chairman of the Local Committee, and the Honorary Local Secretary shall be *ex officio* members of the Executive Committee.

4. The Officers of the Conference shall be selected at each annual meeting by those present. Nominations for membership of the Executive Communitee may be made at the annual meeting by the outgoing Executive and shall include nominations which have been received by the Honorary Secretaries in writing at least twenty-eight days before the annual meeting.

5. The Chairman of the Conference shall give the inaugural address, preside over the meetings for the reading of scientific papers and take the chair at the meetings of the Executive Committee.

6. Members, honorary members and student-associates of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain shall not be required to pay a separate subscription to the British Pharmaceutical Conference; they shall be entitled, on application, to receive the issues of the *Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmacology*, as published, on preferential terms.

Members of any other Pharmaceutical Society, who are members of the Conference by virtue of the arrangement between their Society and the British Pharmaceutical Conference, shall not be required to pay a separate subscription to the British Pharmaceutical Conference; they shall be entitled, on application to receive the Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, as published, on preferential terms.

Other members elected by the Executive shall pay a subscription of 55s. annually, which shall entitle them, on application, to receive the *Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmacology*, as published. Subscriptions shall become due on January 1, and membership shall cease if subscriptions are not paid by June 1.